Skip To ContentSkip To Content

    The easiest way to get in touch is through the special education contact form:

    Contact Form

    Department contact information

    specialed@seattleschools.org
    206-252-0058
    Fax: 206-252-0895

    Special Education Records

    spedrecords@seattleschools.org
    206-252-0892
    Fax: 206-252-0895

    Support in other languages

    Amharic and Oromo
    Work Cell: 206-445-3848
    District Phone: 206-252-0121

    Chinese: Cantonese, Mandarin, Taishanese
    Work Cell: 206-475-1860
    District Phone: 206-252-0013

    Vietnamese
    Work Cell: 206-471-9386
    District Phone: 206-252-0778

    Somali, Arabic
    Work Cell: 206-430-2492
    District Phone: 206-252-0880

    Spanish
    Work Cell: 206-471-2414
    District Phone: 206-252-0767

     

    Who should I contact?

    At your child’s school

    The first person to answer questions and resolve issues that you might have is often your child’s teacher or special education case manager.

    The school principal or assistant principal is responsible for setting the tone and addressing issues concerning discipline, instruction, and the climate of the school.

    School contact directory →

    District Central Office

    When a question or a concern arises that cannot be addressed at your student’s school, there are resources and contacts available to get your need met.

    Contact the Department

    The Central Office Special Education Team supports all schools, programs, and families to ensure students receive the highest quality services possible.

    Additional Department Contacts

    Program Specialists

    Each region, as well as the Private School, Early Childhood, and Transition teams have program specialists on staff to support and guide IEP teams. Program specialists are special education teachers on special assignment to provide an added layer of support to your student’s teacher.

    Regional Program Specialist Directory →

    Special Education Regional Supervisors

    Special education supervisors are another resource available when there are student needs that rise above what schools and program specialists are able to address.

    Regional Supervisor Directory →

    Program Supervisor Directory →

    Directors

    The director of school-based special education and the director of special education are also available to address more complex questions and concerns when needed.

    Director information →


    Referral to Special Education

    Birth to 3 years of age

    Within Reach of Washington State toll-free at 800-322-2588

    3 to 21 years of age

    ENROLLED in Seattle Public Schools

    Communicate with the staff at the school your child attends for Pre-Referral and Referral

    NOT ENROLLED in Seattle Public Schools


    Special Education Supervisors and Program Specialists

    Mike Bylsma, Supervisor, mebylsma@seattleschools.or
    Michelle Bammert, Program Specialist, mtbammert@seattleschools.org

    Schools supported by this team:
    Ballard High School
    Eckstein Middle School
    Hamilton Middle School
    Ingraham High School
    Interagency
    Jane Addams Middle School
    Lincoln High School
    McClure Middle School
    Nathan Hale High School
    Robert Eagle Staff Middle School
    Roosevelt High School
    Whitman Middle School

    Teresa Swanson, Supervisor, taswanson@seattleschools.org
    Catherine Cook, Program Specialist, cmcook@seattleschools.org
    Elaine Parnell, Program Specialist, eeparnell@seattleschools.org

    Schools supported by this team:
    Adams Elementary
    Bagely Elementary
    BF Day Elementary
    Cascade Parent Partnership
    Cascadia Elementary
    Catharine Blaine K-8
    Coe Elementary
    Green Lake Elementary
    Greenwood Elementary
    John Hay Elementary
    John Stanford Elementary
    Lawton Elementary
    Loyal Heights Elementary
    Magnolia Elementary
    McDonald Elementary
    North Beach Elementary
    Queen Anne Elementary
    Salmon Bay K-8
    Viewlands Elementary
    West Woodland Elementary
    Whittier Elementary

    Jenn Pelland, Supervisor, japelland@seattleschools.org
    Caitlin O'Shea, Program Specialist, cmoshea@seattleschools.org

    Schools supported by this team:
    Aki Kurose Middle School
    Cleveland High School
    Denny Middle School
    Franklin High School
    Garfield High School
    Meany Middle School
    Mercer Middle School
    Seattle World School
    Washington Middle School

    Cathy Reesman, Supervisor, careesman@seattleschools.org
    Christian Herdener, Program Specialist, chherdener@seattleschools.org
    Lisa Young, Program Specialist, lmyoung@seattleschools.org

    Schools supported by this team:
    Center School
    Chief Sealth High School
    John Muir Elementary
    John Rogers Elementary
    Kimball Elementary
    Lauerlhurst Elementary
    Licton Springs K-8
    Madison Middle School
    Madrona Elementary
    Middle College
    Nova High School
    Olympic Hills Elementary
    Rainier Beach High School
    Sacajawea Elementary
    South Lake High School
    Stevens Elementary
    Thurgood Marshall Elementary
    TOPS K-8
    West Seattle High School

    Gordon Fowlds, Supervisor, gsfowlds@seattleschools.org
    Judy Ferguson, Program Specialist, juferguson@seattleschools.org
    Elaine Parnell, Program Specialist, eeparnell@seattleschools.org

    Schools supported by this team:
    Alki Elementary
    Arbor Heights Elementary
    Bryant Elementary
    Cedar Park Elementary
    Decatur Elementary
    Fairmount Park Elementary
    Genessee Hill Elementary
    Hazel Wolf K-8
    Lafayette Elementary
    Maple Elementary
    McGilvra Elementary
    Montlake Elementary
    Olympic View Elementary
    Orca K-8
    Pathfinder K-8
    Sand Point Elementary
    Thornton Creek Elementary
    View Ridge Elementary
    Wedgewood Elementary

    Ivory Stewart-Bennett, Supervisor, ivstewart@seattleschools.org
    Emily Caucci, Program Specialist, erdrossman@seattleschools.org
    Amanda McNaughton, Program Specialist, ammcnaughton@seattleschools.org

    Schools supported by this team:
    Bailey Gatzert Elementary
    Beacon Hill Elementary
    Boren STEM K-8
    Broadview-Thomson
    Concord Elementary
    Dearborn Park Elementary
    Dunlap Elementary
    Emerson Elementary
    Gatewood Elementary
    Graham Hill Elementary
    Hawthorne Elementary
    Highland Park Elementary
    Leschi Elementary
    Lowell Elementary
    Martin Luther King Elementary
    Northgate Elementary
    Rainier View Elementary
    Roxhill Elementary
    Sanislo Elementary
    South Shore K-8
    Van Asselt Elementary/Rising Star
    West Seattle Elementary
    Wing Luke Elementary

    Directors

    Concie Pedroza, Chief of Student Support Services
    specialed@seattleschools.org

    Trish Campbell, Executive Director of Special Education
    specialed@seattleschools.org 

    Tarra Mitchell, Director of Special Education
    specialed@seattleschools.org 

    Devin Gurley, Director of Special Education
    specialed@seattleschools.org 

    Programs

    Ann Curry, Student Support Supervisor – Sensory Services

    jacurry@seattleschools.org

     

    Early Childhood (Child find/Preschool/Birth-Three/EEU)

    Heather Brown, Director of Early Learning

    habrown@seattleschools.org

    James Alyson, Preschool Program Specialist

    jwalyson@seattleschools.org

    Meredith Fourre, Special Education Early Childhood Specialist

    msfourre@seattleschools.org

     

    Private School Referrals/Service Plans

    privateschoolservices@seattleschools.org 

    Robin Olney, Supervisor

    reolney@seattleschools.org

    Katie Hardeman, Private School Program Specialist

    kmhardeman@seattleschools.org

    Stephanie Rincon, Private School Program Specialist

    skrincon@seattleschools.org

    Lexi Garberg, Private School Admin Specialist

    legarberg@seattleschools.org

     

    16 to 21-year-old Transition/BRIDGES

    Sherry Studley, Supervisor

    srstudley@seattleschools.org

    Glen Boyd, Program Specialist

    gmboyd@seattleschools.org