Skip To ContentSkip To Content
    • The easiest way to get in touch is through the special education contact form:

    Department contact information

    specialed@seattleschools.org
    206-252-0058
    Fax: 206-252-0895

    Special Education Records

    spedrecords@seattleschools.org
    206-252-0892
    Fax: 206-252-0895

     

    Who should I contact?

    At your child’s school

    The first person to answer questions and resolve issues that you might have is often your child’s teacher or special education case manager.

    The school principal or assistant principal is responsible for setting the tone and addressing issues concerning discipline, instruction, and the climate of the school.

    School contact directory →

    District Central Office

    When a question or a concern arises that cannot be addressed at your student’s school, there are resources and contacts available to get your need met.

    Contact the Department

    The Central Office Special Education Team supports all schools, programs, and families to ensure students receive the highest quality services possible.

    Additional Department Contacts

    Program Specialists

    Each region, as well as the Private School, Early Childhood, and Transition teams have program specialists on staff to support and guide IEP teams. Program specialists are special education teachers on special assignment to provide an added layer of support to your student’s teacher.

    Regional Program Specialist Directory →

    Special Education Regional Supervisors

    Special education supervisors are another resource available when there are student needs that rise above what schools and program specialists are able to address.

    Regional Supervisor Directory →

    Program Supervisor Directory →

    Directors

    The director of school-based special education and the director of special education are also available to address more complex questions and concerns when needed.

    Director information →


    Referral to Special Education

    Birth to 3 years of age

    Within Reach of Washington State toll-free at 800-322-2588

    3 to 21 years of age

    ENROLLED in Seattle Public Schools

    Communicate with the staff at the school your child attends for Pre-Referral and Referral

    NOT ENROLLED in Seattle Public Schools


    Regional Supervisors and Program Specialists

    Mike Bylsma, Regional Supervisor

    mebylsma@seattleschools.org 

    Michelle Bammert, Program Specialist

    mtbammert@seattleschools.org 

    Elaine Parnell, Program Specialist

    eeparnell@seattleschools.org 

    Schools

    • Bryant Elementary 
    • Cascade Parent Partnership
    • Cedar Park Elementary
    • Decatur Elementary
    • Eckstein Middle School
    • Green Lake Elementary
    • Hazel Wolf K-8
    • Jane Addams Middle School
    • John Rogers Elementary
    • Laurelhurst Elementary 
    • Nathan Hale High School
    • Olympic Hills Elementary 
    • Olympic View Elementary
    • Roosevelt High School
    • Sacajawea Elementary
    • Sand Point Elementary 
    • Thornton Creek Elementary
    • TOPS K-8
    • View Ridge Elementary
    • Wedgewood Elementary

    Teresa Swanson, Regional Supervisor

    taswanson@seattleschools.org

    Maggie Mattmiller, Program Specialist

    mamattmiller1@seattleschools.org

    Caitlin O'Shea, Program Specialist

    cmoshea@seattleschools.org

    Schools

    • Adams Elementary
    • Bagely Elementary
    • Ballard High School
    • BF Day Elementary
    • Broadview-Thomson 
    • Cascadia Elementary
    • Hamilton Middle School
    • Ingraham High School
    • Licton Springs K-8
    • Lincoln High School
    • Loyal Heights Elementary
    • North Beach Elementary
    • Northgate Elementary
    • Robert Eagle Staff Middle School
    • Salmon Bay K-8
    • Viewlands Elementary
    • West Woodland Elementary
    • Whitman Middle School
    • Whittier Elementary

    Devin Gurley, Regional Supervisor

    dkgurley@seattleschools.org 

    Jenn Pelland, Program Specialist

    japelland@seattleschools.org 

    Schools

    • Aki Kurose Middle School
    • Denny Middle School
    • Franklin High School
    • Garfield High School
    • Lowell Elementary
    • Madison Middle School
    • Meany Middle School
    • Mercer Middle School
    • Stevens Elementary
    • Washington Middle School

    Cathy Reesman, Regional Supervisor

    careesman@seattleschools.org

    Christian Herdener, Program Specialist

    chherdener@seattleschools.org

    Lisa Young, Program Specialist

    lmyoung@seattleschools.org 

    Schools

    • Bailey Gatzert Elementary 
    • Cleveland High School
    • Dearborn Park Elementary 
    • Dunlap Elementary 
    • Emerson Elementary 
    • Graham Hill Elementary 
    • Hawthorne Elementary
    • John Muir Elementary 
    • Kimball Elementary
    • Leschi Elementary
    • Maple Elementary
    • Martin Luther King Elementary 
    • Orca K-8
    • Rainier Beach High School
    • Rainier View Elementary 
    • South Lake High School
    • South Shore K-8
    • Thurgood Marshall Elementary
    • Van Asselt Elementary 
    • Wing Luke Elementary

    Gordon Fowlds, Regional Supervisor

    gsfowlds@seattleschools.org 

    Judy Ferguson, Program Specialist

    juferguson@seattleschools.org 

    Emily Caucci, Program Specialist

    erdrossman@seattleschools.org 

    Schools

    • Arbor Heights Elementary
    • Boren STEM K-8
    • Chief Sealth High School
    • Concord Elementary
    • Fairmount Park Elementary
    • Gatewood Elementary
    • Genessee Hill Elementary
    • Highland Park Elementary
    • Lafayette Elementary 
    • Middle College
    • Pathfinder K-8
    • Roxhill Elementary
    • Sanislo Elementary
    • West Seattle Elementary
    • West Seattle High School

    Rob Vander Stoep, Regional Supervisor

    ravanderstoe@seattleschools.org

    Amanda McNaughton, Program Specialist

    ammcnaughton@seattleschools.org 

    Schools

    • Catharine Blaine K-8
    • Center School
    • Coe Elementary
    • Interagency
    • John Hay Elementary
    • Lawton Elementary
    • Magnolia Elementary
    • McClure Middle School
    • Nova High School
    • Queen Anne Elementary
    • Ryther
    • Seattle World School

    Robin Olney, Regional Supervisor

    reolney@seattleschools.org

    Schools

    • Alki Elementary
    • Beacon Hill Elementary
    • Greenwood Elementary
    • John Stanford Elementary

    Michael Dickneite, Regional Supervisor

    msdickneite@seattleschools.org

    Schools

    • Madrona Elementary
    • McDonald Elementary
    • McGilvra Elementary
    • Montlake Elementary

    Programs

    Early Childhood (Child find/Preschool/Birth-Three/EEU)

    Heather Brown, Director of Early Learning

    habrown@seattleschools.org

    James Alyson, Preschool Program Specialist

    jwalyson@seattleschools.org 

    Teresa Golden, Preschool Admin Data Specialist

    tmgolden@seattleschools.org 

     

    Private School Referrals/Service Plans

    privateschoolservices@seattleschools.org 

    Robin Olney, Supervisor

    reolney@seattleschools.org

    Katie Hardeman, Private School Program Specialist

    kmhardeman@seattleschools.org

    Stephanie Rincon, Private School Program Specialist

    skrincon@seattleschools.org

    Lexi Garberg, Private School Admin Specialist

    legarberg@seattleschools.org 

     

    Vision and Deaf/Hard of Hearing

    Michael Dickneite, Supervisor

    msdickneite@seattleschools.org 

     

    16 to 21-year-old Transition/BRIDGES

    Sherry Studley, Supervisor

    srstudley@seattleschools.org

    Glen Boyd, Program Specialist

    gmboyd@seattleschools.org

    Directors

    Concie Pedroza, Chief of Student Support Services
    specialed@seattleschools.org

    Trish Campbell, Director of Special Education
    specialed@seattleschools.org 

    Nicole Fitch, Director of Special Education School Based Services
    specialed@seattleschools.org 

    Kari Hanson, Director of Student Support Services
    specialed@seattleschools.org